East European Performing Arts Platform (EEPAP) supports the
development of contemporary performing arts (dance and theatre)
in 18 countries of Central and Eastern Europe.

Kurt Jooss Prize 2019


In the summer of 2019, the Kurt Jooss Prize will be awarded for the seventh time. The award is sponsored by the Anna and Hermann Markard Foundation, Amsterdam, together with the City of Essen.

The Kurt Jooss Prize is intended to encourage and foster choreographers who are not yet fully established in their profession. There are no restrictions concerning style or age. The prize is €10,000.

The jury comprises Martin Schläpfer, ballet director of the Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg , Reinhild Hoffmann, choreographer, Nils Christe, choreographer (NL), Muchtar Al Ghusain, Head of Cultural Affairs / City of Essen, Dr. Patricia Stöckemann, dance dramaturge /Theatre Osnabrück, Adolphe Binder, intendant and artistic director of Tanztheater Wuppertal, Lucie Conrad, Producer (GB).


Entry requirements and application forms are available from:

Kulturbüro Essen, Hollestrasse 3, D-45121 Essen

e-mail: [email protected]


Entries without the completed application form will not be accepted.

Application deadline: October 24th, 2018